List of Services under the Civil Services Examination

List of Services under the Civil Services Examination

The Civil Services Examination is used to recruit candidates for various services that form a part of the administrative machinery of the government.

Conducted by the UPSC (the full form of the UPSC being the Union Public Service Commission), the exam takes in three phases; prelims, mains and interview. An average candidate sits for 32 hours of examination during the complete process spanning around one year.

This article will give the list of  all the services under the Civil Services Examination.

What are the Services under the Civil Services Examination?

The services that candidates will qualify upon completion of the Civil Services Examination are divided into three categories:

  1. All India Services
  2. Central Services (Group A)
  3. Group B Services

Under All India Services, the following services are available:

  1. Indian Administrative Service: The Indian Administrative Service (IAS) is the administrative arm of the All India Services of Government of India. It is considered the premier central civil service of India.
  2. Indian Police Service: The Indian Police Service commands and provides leadership to State police forces and Union territories’ police forces.

Read Also: QNET Business Update: How the Direct Selling Company Empowers Female Distributors

Central Services (Group A)

Following are the services under Central Services (Group A):

  1. Indian Foreign Service: The Indian Foreign Service (IFS) is the diplomatic arm of the Government of India under the Ministry of External Affairs.
  2. Indian Audit and Accounts Service (IA&AS): The IA & AS is responsible for auditing the accounts of the Union and State governments and public sector organisations, and for maintaining financial records of State Governments
  3. Indian Civil Accounts Service (ICAS): The purpose of the ICAS is separating Auditing and Accounting functions of the Union Government with
  4. Indian Corporate Law Service (ICLS): The Indian Corporate Law Service mandates to empower and regulate the corporate sector for this country, and to protect the rights of the investors, particularly small investors.
  5. Indian Revenue Services: The IRS is primarily responsible for collecting and administering direct and indirect taxes accruing to the Government of India.

Other services under Group A are as follows:

  • Indian Defence Accounts Service (IDAS)
  • Indian Defence Estates Service (IDES)
  • Indian Information Service (IIS)
  • Indian Telecommunication Service (ITS)
  • Indian Postal Service (IPoS)
  • Indian P&T Accounts and Finance Service (IP&TAFS)
  • Indian Railway Management Service (IRMS)
  • Indian Railway Protection Force Service (IRPFS)
  • Indian Trade Service (ITrS)

The Group B services are as follows:

  1. Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service (AFHCS): Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Services (AFHCS) is a Group B Central Civil Service, responsible for providing civilian staff, secretarial, clerical, and support services to the headquarters of Indian Armed Forces and Inter-Services Organisations (ISOs) under the Ministry of Defence (MOD). The cadre was established in 1968.
  2. Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Civil Service (DANICS): The cadres of this service are responsible for the diverse administrative functions of the National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union Territories of India.
  3. Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Police Service (DANIPS): The DANIPS is a federal civil service in India, administering the National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union Territories of India.
  4. Pondicherry Civil Service (PCS): The Pondicherry Civil Service is administered by the central government as a central service.
  5. Pondicherry Police Service (PPS): The Pondicherry Police Service comes directly under the Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *